Gymnastics Australia Announces 2019 World Cup Team

Gymnastics Australia is excited to announce the athletes who will represent Australia at the Individual Apparatus Artistic Gymnastics World Cup taking place in Melbourne this week, February 21-24. 

Included in the team is James Bacueti from Southern Canberra Gymnastics. James will compete on vault on Friday evening. 

The world class event is not only returning to Melbourne for its third year, but the 2019 World Cup will serve as a qualifying event for athlete’s aiming for Tokyo 2020. 

Hoping to build on their success from 2018, Commonwealth Games Gold medallist Chris Remkes and World Cup Silver medallist Mitchell Morgans will headline the Australian Men’s team. 

While for the Women’s artistic event Commonwealth Games silver medallist Georgia-Rose Brown will lead the Australian Women’s team and look forward to seeing Elena Chipizubov and Kate Sayer compete in their first Senior International event. 

Gymnastics Australia CEO Kitty Chiller said the event was a fantastic opportunity for the Australian athletes to compete on the world stage. 

“Our athletes will have the chance to compete against the best gymnasts in the world in their own backyard with home crowd support,” Ms Chiller said. 

“They are primed to perform at their best with the lure of gaining valuable Olympic qualifying results being a great inspiration.” 

All 11 competing Australians and support staff arrive in Melbourne on Tuesday for training ahead of the event, with a record number of 32 countries and 90 athletes to attend. 

Competition begins on Thursday 21st February at 6pm AEDT. 

James Bacueti 
Tyson Bull 
Mitchell Morgans 
Chris Remkes 
Michael Tone 
Heath Thorpe 

Head of Delegation: Andrew Logan 
Team Manager: John Curtin 
Head Coach: Vladimir Vatkin 
Assistant Coach: Sean Wilson 

Georgia-Rose Brown 
Romi Brown 
Elena Chipizubov 
Emma Nedov 
Kate Sayer 

Head of Delegation: Andrew Logan 
Team Manager: Mary Schumacher 

Head Coach: Mihai Brestyan 

Coach(es): Misha Barabach, John Hart, Zhen Zhang 
Judge(s): Trisha Hade